Supercomputer @ IITR under National Supercomputing Mission (NSM) Phase II
Supercomputer @ IITR under National Supercomputing Mission (NSM) Phase II

Latest News

IIT Roorkee Researchers Contribute to Unveiling the Humming of Our Universe Observed Through Low-Frequency Gravitational Waves.

  • IIT Roorkee has been selected to have a node of the National Supercomputing Mission (NSM) coordinated by CDAC Pune, the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY).

  • PARAM Ganga – High-Performance Computing (HPC) system under the NSM has been established at IIT Roorkee.

  • The supercomputer PARAM Ganga is based on a heterogeneous and hybrid configuration of Intel Xeon Cascade lake processors, and NVIDIA Tesla V100. There are 312 (CPU+GPU+HM) nodes with a total peak computing capacity of 1.67 (CPU+GPU+HM) PFLOPS performance. The cluster consists of compute nodes connected with the Mellanox (HDR) InfiniBand interconnect network. The system uses the Lustre parallel file system and operating system is CentOS 7.x.

National Supercomputing Mission (Promo)

National Supercomputing Mission

  • IIT Roorkee has signed an MoU with the Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC), an autonomous Scientific Society of the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Government of India. 
  • A state-of-the-art HPC facility along Data Centre at IIT Roorkee funded under the NSM project.
  • The initiative has been undertaken at the Institute Computer Centre,  IIT Roorkee.
  • The major research areas that would be making extensive use of PARAM Ganga are in the field of Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning/Deep Learning, Weather Research & Forecasting, Data sciences, Geosciences, CFD, Molecular Dynamics, Ground motion simulation, Material science, Chemistry and Computational Biology.
  • The HPC facility for IITR through NSM would be highly beneficial for the entire research community at IIT Roorkee and also help cater to the needs of institutions in Uttarakhand, Western U.P., Haryana and Punjab.